Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 28, 2024, 06:11:57 am

Author Topic: Getting a Band 6, from someone who initially knew NOTHING about Business! :)  (Read 5211 times)  Share 

bimberfairy

• Trendsetter
  • Dedicate the present to working on yourself
  • Respect: +36
Hi guys! I completed my HSC in 2017 and one of the subjects I studied was Business Studies. I'll be honest. When I first entered the course, I knew nothing. I had transferred to it from Chemistry and was absolutely clueless. I didn’t understand “business,” had no idea what shares or stocks were, and the first thing my teacher asked me was to “define what a business was.” I proceeded to recite the dictionary definition of it that I had memorised the night before. I didn’t enter the subject loving it. I just needed to get out of Chemistry, but fast forward to HSC year and I can proudly say that I LOVE Business Studies to the point that I’m planning to dedicate the next four years of my life to it by studying Commerce in university.

I achieved a mark of 94 for Business Studies and it took a lot of hard work, studying and practice! I’m planning to share with you guys my tips on how I got a Band 6 for the subject, from someone who entered the course knowing nothing about business.

#1 Know the syllabus!
Can’t stress how important this is. You have to know the Business Studies syllabus in and out. Not only does it outline what you should be studying, it’s also a great guide for planning essays. I recommend memorising it and referring to it as much as possible. This ATAR notes post on how study it is what got me through Year 12 Business Studies. Acronyms are amazing! Don’t under-estimate them.

#2 Maximising marks in short answer