Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 26, 2024, 05:35:30 pm

Author Topic: Question about IT  (Read 757 times)

GCM123

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
Question about IT
« on: July 28, 2019, 03:30:58 pm »
Hello!

So I'm currently a year 12 student thinking about my aspirations and what to do next year.
I'm a heavy STEM kid, so I want to do (or at least major) in something to do with science. However, I've also been thinking about doing some sort of minor in IT.

Question is, how hard (I know it's subjective) is studying IT, especially networking (or anything else, doesn't matter). IT is essentially my backup if I don't get a science job, and I've also heard that IT employability rates are sky-high, so I probably wouldn't find it difficult to get a job (that is, if I'm competent enough).

As a side note, I know absolutely nothing about IT, not even the basics, but I'm willing to start from scratch.

Any help is appreciated.
Thank you!!!!

Aaron

• Honorary Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • Respect: +1536
Re: Question about IT
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2019, 03:58:54 pm »
+4
IT employability rates actually aren't as good as people think (even if you score high). The primary reason is the industry can and does quite frequently hire international employees on visas (main reason: financial). So don't pick it just for that reason - entry level roles usually involve help desk support (or if you're lucky, you'll get a graduate role/internship).

In my opinion IT is three main elements: mathematics, business/communication and the hands-on technology component. Networking requires a strong mathematical understanding due to things like subnets, IP addressing etc.