Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 26, 2024, 05:22:22 pm

Author Topic: Related Text Help Please!  (Read 6641 times)

miss_demeanour

• Adventurer
  • Respect: 0
Related Text Help Please!
« on: February 20, 2017, 10:59:20 pm »
Hi ATARNotes perusers/contributors,

I am desperate for advice on a related text, as I really cannot seem to find one. Help!
My prescribed text is King Henry IV (Pt. 1), and I'm currently studying Module C: Representing People and Politics.

Thanks in advance.   :D

jamonwindeyer

• Honorary Moderator
  • Great Wonder of ATAR Notes
  • The lurker from the north.
  • Respect: +3108
Re: Related Text Help Please!
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2017, 11:13:32 pm »
+2

I am desperate for advice on a related text, as I really cannot seem to find one. Help!
My prescribed text is King Henry IV (Pt. 1), and I'm currently studying Module C: Representing People and Politics.

Hey! V for Vendetta could be worth a look! It's a reasonably recent film that explores themes of politics, totalitarianism, control and rebellion in a modern context. I used it in the same option in Module C and it worked really well for me!! ;D

sudodds

• HSC Lecturer
  • Honorary Moderator
  • Part of the furniture
  • "Seize the means of the HSC" ~ Vladimir Lenin
  • Respect: +931
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2017, 11:16:05 pm »
+1

Hey! So I unfortunately didn't study that text specifically (we did Wag the Dog - even if you don't have to study it I highly recommend having a watch because it's actually an incredible film), but I did study the Representing People and Politics topic for Module C. Candide by Voltaire worked really well as a related text for me, as did the Evil Empire Speech by Ronald Reagan. You'll probably have to look a little bit into seeing if these texts relate thematically to King Henry the IV, but overall I can definitely vouch for them as fantastic Mod C relateds :)
FREE HISTORY EXTENSION LECTURE - CLICK HERE FOR INFO!