Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 19, 2024, 09:23:43 pm

Author Topic: I want to do medicine but I have taken no science classes and have no sci know..  (Read 1275 times)

amidoomed4lyfe

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
Hi,

I am new to these forums, so please forgive me if I am posting this thread in the wrong place. I am currently having an internal crisis in terms of wishing to pursue medicine as a future career. I am currently a year 12 student and am taking no science classes, rather, I am studying English, Maths Methods, Business Management, Accounting and Legal Studies. At the time of subject selection, I believed that I would not be interested in a career in medicine, and thus, neglected to choose any science subjects, favouring subjects I was more interested in at the time (particularly commerce). However, last year, and especially at the beginning of this year, I have been drawn to the notion of studying medicine, but I believe I physically cannot, due to not taking these classes.

I guess I'm just asking for advice, if there is any way to start a pathway to a course in medicine, as I am completely lost :(. Any replies will be greatly appreciated.

PhoenixxFire

• VIC MVP - 2018
  • Honorary Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • They/them/theirs
  • Respect: +3102
I guess the first thing to ask would be why do you want to do medicine? What changed your mind? What particular area of medicine?

I don't know much about med entry but i'm thinking it's impossible to get into undergrad in Victoria as you won't have fulfilled pre-reqs. I don't know about interstate pre-reqs but I suspect you will come across the same problem.

You could do a science or biomed degree, you will likely be required to do holiday courses if they have pre-reqs which you don't meet and you will obviously have to do well to be able to get into post grad medicine.

The other reason I asked why you want to be a doctor is have you considered nursing or paramedicine?