Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 08:40:46 pm

Author Topic: Bombed X2 - but should I try again??  (Read 4416 times)  Share 

m.james

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
Bombed X2 - but should I try again??
« on: November 02, 2019, 05:09:11 pm »
Hi everyone,

I'd really love some advice.

I'm a Year 11 student and have been doing accelerated mathematics. I had a rocky start to Extension 2 but did reasonably in the trials (76%) and really put in the hard yards since then to get myself up to hopefully around to the 80-85% range. However, I did rubbish in the exam for some reason, and long story short, I'll probably get around 62%. Much lower than my average.

I've got 13 units at the moment and really want to drop Bio because I hate it, but now I'm having second thoughts because of this X2 result. I don't want this to wreck my ATAR.

At present, I'm unsure what to do. Do I keep Bio? Do I attempt the Extension 2 exam again next year? Do I do neither of those things? I am looking for an ATAR around 90-95.

It's especially hard to make this decision for me at this time because it's very emotional when you let yourself down in such a major exam. I really would appreciate any sort of suggestions or advice. Thanks!

classof2019

• Trailblazer
Re: Bombed X2 - but should I try again??
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2019, 08:21:11 pm »
+3
Hi everyone,

I'd really love some advice.

I'm a Year 11 student and have been doing accelerated mathematics. I had a rocky start to Extension 2 but did reasonably in the trials (76%) and really put in the hard yards since then to get myself up to hopefully around to the 80-85% range. However, I did rubbish in the exam for some reason, and long story short, I'll probably get around 62%. Much lower than my average.

I've got 13 units at the moment and really want to drop Bio because I hate it, but now I'm having second thoughts because of this X2 result. I don't want this to wreck my ATAR.