Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 20, 2024, 03:40:50 am

Author Topic: Worried about my atar  (Read 675 times)

MrManav

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
Worried about my atar
« on: October 15, 2019, 08:41:19 pm »
+1
Hey guys, I am currently a year 11 student who just started unit 3 and 4. I am worried about my atar, as I am aiming for 98-99 but I'm not sure if what im currently getting for my subjects is good enough. Currently I study Specalist, Methods, Chem, Phys, Bio and got over 85% in each of the subjects for my unit 1 and 2 score. Do any of you know how well of an ATAR I can get with that score. And if you guys have some tips for me to improve my final percentage, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thnaks

Bri MT

• VIC MVP - 2018
  • Administrator
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • invest in wellbeing so it can invest in you
  • Respect: +3677
Re: Worried about my atar
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2019, 08:59:45 am »
+5
Welcome to the forums! :)

I studied very similar subjects to you (bio, physics, chem, methods, psych & my English subject [ my school didn't offer spec :( ]) and I achieved your ATAR goal so hopefully you'll find my perspective useful.

As you may know, unit 1&2 scores don't directly contribute to your ATAR and unit 1&2 tests can vary a lot by schools so it's very hard to draw conclusions from them. That being said, it looks like you're roughly on track for your ATAR goal. What I can guarantee you is that at it is possible for you to achieve to achieve it. Rui (maths) & I (science) have been working on making resources and guides specific to the subjects you're taking so I'd definitely suggest you check some of those out if you haven't already. It can also be useful to look at the feedback/advice others have asked for, e.g. here's replies to Delis101 asking about biology assignments

In general, here's some advice I would give to someone with STEM-focused subjects: