Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 30, 2024, 01:04:40 am

Author Topic: School won’t let me continue on to Maths Methods 3/4  (Read 683 times)  Share 

struggling_

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
School won’t let me continue on to Maths Methods 3/4
« on: November 27, 2019, 09:32:12 am »
Hey everyone,

I failed my Methods 1/2 exams and haven’t performed the best in my tests and assessments. My school is now recommending for me to do Further Maths 3/4 instead of Methods 3/4 and I know they see that it would be in my best interest to do it, but I want to Methods 3/4 not only to keep my options open for uni courses without doing bridging courses but also I think I would be able to cope if I was more consistent with studying and didn’t cram before any of my assessments.

Long story short, I used to be a strong maths student in Years 7-10 and was in the accelerated class, though my marks started to drop from Year 9. Back then, I was very diligent in doing my homework after every class and Maths was one of favourite subjects. However, from year 9 onwards, my study habits worsened and I just stopped caring in general. I neglected Methods this year and couldn’t do the best I could have done due to prioritising my 3/4 subject, lack of motivation, etc. I’ve spoken to my teacher and they said they think I’m capable for Methods ¾ but I just need to seriously revise the topics from this year and ramp up my study habits - I just need to get approved by the coordinator but they’ve been refusing other people in the same situation as me. Would anyone know how I can persuade my school to let me continue with Methods despite my grades?  :( It’s probably easy for me to say now but I’m prepared to work hard over the holidays to cover the topics that I didn’t fully understand, and I’m in a better mental state than I was before. I’m interested in studying Commerce or Biomedical Sciences at uni, which require at least a 25 in Methods, and I would prefer not to do a bridg