Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 11:37:23 pm

Author Topic: SUBJECT SELECTION  (Read 1799 times)  Share 

Ionic Doc

• Forum Leader
  • Respect: +212
SUBJECT SELECTION
« on: July 23, 2018, 07:06:56 pm »
Hey guys im in year 10  and i have a few question about subject selection
If im trying to score above 90% on my atar and im a student just above average would i be able to cope with these subjects.
English- Standard
Religion and Society  - Acce;erated ( doing for the 10% boost)
Chemistry
Physics
Economics
Methods
or should i swap one of them out for psychology
any advice would be well appriciated.  ::)
2019/2020 - Psychology | Biology | Chemistry | Methods | Further | English
2021 - Science @ Melbourne University

Joseph41

• Administrator
  • Great Wonder of ATAR Notes
  • Respect: +7477
Re: SUBJECT SELECTION
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2018, 09:44:43 am »
+1
Hey guys im in year 10  and i have a few question about subject selection
If im trying to score above 90% on my atar and im a student just above average would i be able to cope with these subjects.
English- Standard
Religion and Society  - Acce;erated ( doing for the 10% boost)
Chemistry
Physics
Economics
Methods
or should i swap one of them out for psychology
any advice would be well appriciated.  ::)

Hey RXFRA19! Welcome to the forums. Great to have you here. :)

A few general thoughts:

* An ATAR of 90% doesn't really exist; the ATAR is a percentile ranking - not a percentage of marks. Really small point, but just wanted to clear it up that if, say, you achieved 90% on every single one of your assessments, including your exams, that wouldn't necessarily mean you'd get an ATAR of 90.00.
* When it comes to subject selection, here are the things I'd consider:

1. Do you need any subjects as pre-requisites for any uni degrees you're considering?
2. Do you enjoy the subjects?
3. To a lesser extent, are you good at them?