Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 04:57:06 am

Author Topic: English Extension 2 Question Thread  (Read 66596 times)  Share 

elysepopplewell

• HSC Lecturer
  • Honorary Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • "Hey little fighter, soon it will be brighter."
  • Respect: +970
English Extension 2 Question Thread
« on: January 28, 2016, 09:31:08 pm »
+5
Before you can ask a question, you'll have to make an ATAR Notes account here. Once you've done that, a little 'reply' button will come up when you're viewing threads, and you'll be able to post whatever you want! :)

Hey there!

I'm that student who would have done Extension 3 English if it existed. I graduated in 2015 and Extension 2 was my equal highest scoring subject. I cannot express to you what it was like to see that I got 47 in this course. I do have my reaction on video, but we'll save that for a rainy day. I was stoked. Absolutely stoked. The subject that everyone said is "soooo subjectively marked" (perhaps so) somehow turned in my favour. My major work has a wisp of my soul in every word.

I wrote a creative short story. My concept was based on the idea of their being a perpetual difference between appearance and reality. My setting was 1952 America. I chose my setting because I studied After the Bomb (Cold War era) in Extension 1 English. I played with the ideas of Oedipus Complexes, Stockholm Syndrome and Cognitive Dissonance. I can honestly say that before I began my major work, I couldn't have given you a proper answer if you asked what each of those meant.