Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 05:51:27 am

Author Topic: How do I get into dentistry in QLD?  (Read 3407 times)

snr.mmorris4.19

• Adventurer
  • Respect: 0
How do I get into dentistry in QLD?
« on: September 28, 2020, 06:18:51 pm »
Hi all,
I'm a graduating year 12 student from QLD with the new ATAR system, but I am afraid that my english mark is too low to get me into undergraduate dentistry. My grades thus far are:

Math Methods – A
Biology – A
Chemistry – A
Physics – A
English B-
Religion and Ethics (doesn't count towards ATAR) – C (i don't study it lol)

Dentistry is extremely competitive and I need a high 99 ATAR to get into either JCU, Griffith, or UQ dentistry as a year 12 graduate.

My question is: If I get rejected by all three universities I just listed for undergraduate dentistry, what are my pathway options?

Should I apply for a bachelor of biomedical science? I heard that bachelor of science is more versatile but I'm not sure, because I would probably make a stronger friend group in biomedical science due to most peoples intentions being to get into medicine or dentistry. But then again, this means that competition is even more fierce because we have the same intentions. I'm left in a big dilemma right now. What other bachelors could gain me entrance to dentistry? Is it better if i do the bachelor at UQ, since it is a Go8 university? There is an 'accelerated' bachelor of biomedical science at USC which is 2 years as opposed to the 3 years offered by most other uni's in QLD, is this the optimal pathway?

I'm really lost right now, thanks for any help though!

tinglewood

• Adventurer
Re: How do I get into dentistry in QLD?
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2020, 10:21:56 am »
+2