Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 07:40:35 am

Author Topic: Will the HSC specifically tell us to write a specific poem for MOD B  (Read 3006 times)

moon_princess

• Adventurer
  • Respect: 0
Hi, im studying T.S Eliot's poems at school for Mod B but i was wondering what if they would specifically tell us to write a specific poem of Eliot e.g Journey of the Magi with another poem of our choice?

angewina_naguen

• HSC Lecturer
  • Part of the furniture
  • Musical Theatre Tragic And Ultimate Pun Generator
  • Respect: +1026
Re: Will the HSC specifically tell us to write a specific poem for MOD B
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2020, 02:35:51 pm »
+4
Hi, im studying T.S Eliot's poems at school for Mod B but i was wondering what if they would specifically tell us to write a specific poem of Eliot e.g Journey of the Magi with another poem of our choice?

Hey, moon_princess!

Welcome to the forums and hope your revision is coming along well  ;D This is a really good question that I have (slightly) long answer to that I hope will not only help you out, but also any other students doing poetry for Module B!

The short answer is yes, they can definitely specify a poem in your Trials and/or in the HSC. The ones they have specified in the past, and I won't put it against them to do it again, are Journey of the Magi and The Hollow Men because very few students choose to discuss them in their essays. The other three poems are fairly popular so the likelihood of them being specified is low; if I was to put forward the one that might be specified of those three, I would probably say Rhapsody on a Windy Night.