Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 20, 2024, 11:35:24 am

Author Topic: HELP- HOW TO WRITE MOD B ESSAY  (Read 1424 times)

hilaryl

• Adventurer
  • Respect: 0
HELP- HOW TO WRITE MOD B ESSAY
« on: May 07, 2018, 04:07:51 pm »
I'm currently studying Christina Rossetti for mod B but i'm unsure of how to structure the essays. what depth do i need to know the poem/context to? how do i plan and structure it?

BridgitteH

• Adventurer
  • Respect: +2
Re: HELP- HOW TO WRITE MOD B ESSAY
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2018, 10:35:28 am »
+8
I'm currently studying Christina Rossetti for mod B but i'm unsure of how to structure the essays. what depth do i need to know the poem/context to? how do i plan and structure it?

Hey! I'm in the same boat as you. If you have a question which states a poem for analysis it can get a bit tricky. If it doesn't, then you can just substitute set text for another own choice poem. Here are two examples to form the macro structure of the set-text essay off the top of my head:

Intro
Para 1: own choice 1 integrated with set text
Para 2: own choice 2 integrated with set text
Para 3: own choice 3 integrated with set text
etc
Conclusion

Intro
Para 1: own choice 1
Para 2: own choice 2
Para 3: set text
etc.
Conclusion

In terms of micro structure, I find Elyse and Emily's guide in the ATARNotes Course notes a nice and simple way of demonstrating how to write an integrated essay and for a poem/para essay it's just the general paragraph structure but only talking about one text.