Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 20, 2024, 04:56:23 pm

Author Topic: What happens to your ATAR if you fail a subject or get an N-award?  (Read 19108 times)

exhausted

• Adventurer
  • Respect: 0
This may be the dumbest thing to do for the HSC but I'm just curious because no one I've asked seems to know the answer.
Basically, at my school Studies of Religion is compulsory but I don't want to do it and it's a bit late to move schools. If it's true that they only include your 10 best units for your ATAR, my theory is that if I just do real bad in SOR and worry about my other subjects then I could still get a good ATAR since they only count your best 10? I'm an A grade student so I do get top marks for the other 5 subjects. Again, it's a theory hence why I'm asking about it.
So my question is, if I were to fail everything in SOR, given I complete my other 5 subjects with good marks, what will happen regarding my ATAR? Also, what would be the difference regarding my ATAR if I completed the work for SOR but failed, or if I just didn't complete my work at all? And am i still eligible for a HSC and an ATAR?
Also another question, what would happen if someone didn't turn up for a HSC exam if they already failed the subject anyway or just got an N-award?

Chemystery

• Forum Regular
  • Caity x
  • Respect: +4
Re: What happens to your ATAR if you fail a subject or get an N-award?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2017, 01:12:48 pm »
 I know someone in my music 1 class who failed music (didn't give doctors certificate for trials and didn't show up to Aural written exam) and still got a mark so I'm wary about this too!