Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 02:24:02 am

Author Topic: What gets/got you through Year 12?  (Read 11038 times)  Share 

JR_StudyEd

• MOTM: MAY 19
  • Forum Obsessive
  • Mental health is #1
  • Respect: +171
What gets/got you through Year 12?
« on: April 04, 2019, 06:24:19 pm »
+1
Couldn't find a topic like this, so here we go.
A very thought-provoking question indeed. As you can tell from my sig, I'm in my final year! (Not sure if excited or petrified) I've just finished Term 1 (1/3 of the way there!!!) but this week has been comparatively poor in terms of my study habits. Don't know if it's burnout or if I'm just completely over it. So I ask you all ANers, what kept you going in spite of those days/weeks which you just couldn't be stuffed?
Listens to K-Pop (Twice, Red Velvet, MAMAMOO) and Christmas music all year round.

K888

• VIC MVP - 2017
  • National Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • Respect: +2877
Re: What gets/got you through Year 12?
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2019, 11:55:29 am »
+10
For me, the key things were:

- not expecting myself to study all the time - allow time for leisure/social/sporting stuff, and don't hate yourself for wanting to do things that aren't school related
- think of the end goal - I really wanted to get into physio, so when I struggled I just tried to remind myself that I was putting in the effort now to get myself to where I wanted to be in the future
- remember that year 12 isn't the be all and end all, so if you don't do well on a SAC or don't study well for a few weeks, don't sweat it - just think about what you can do in the future to help yourself

Most of all, when I really struggled, I just got myself through one day at a time. Definitely helped with my stress levels :)

vceme

• Trendsetter
  • Respect: +20
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2019, 12:26:55 pm »
+7
-rewarding myself after a sac (hang out with friends, movie marathon etc.)