Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 28, 2024, 08:45:59 pm

Author Topic: 2019 EAL TUTORING ( RAW 50 | ATAR 99.55)  (Read 4208 times)  Share 

Sarinamfgh

• Victorian
  • Trailblazer
  • Respect: +5
2019 EAL TUTORING ( RAW 50 | ATAR 99.55)
« on: January 31, 2017, 05:48:45 pm »
+4
Hi!
I am Sarina and I graduated 2016 as the DUX of my school with an atar of 99.55 and raw 50 in EAL. This year I am keen again to tutor EAL students who are not feeling too confident about their writing or the overall scope of the course. No matter how similar the study design of English and EAL seems, in the end, there are some key points that are only assessed in EAL, for instance, the listening and responding task.

I have thoroughly studied Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, No Sugar by Jack Davis, and Invictus by dir. Eastwood. I am also an avid reader and have read a number of books on the 2017 VCAA booklist. If you are studying a text that I have not read, I will be reading it to assist you in the best way I can.

While I will be flexible with your needs, if you are not sure how you want to tackle EAL through tutoring, in each lesson we will be following through a structure, such as this:
  • 10 min Talking about progress in school and handing back last week's work
  • 34min Working through the themes/characters of the text, or Essay techniques, or work on preparations for the upcoming SAC
  • 12min writing/practice Task ( 2min reading + 10min writing)
At the end of each lesson, I will be providing you with homework tasks appropriate to your need, like:
  • Listening tasks
  • Vocabulary building tasks
  • Writing tasks: eg Exam sets
  • Annotation tasks

Through the tuition, I will be giving you notes that will prove effective in improving not only your writing but your language abilities.