Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 30, 2024, 01:51:29 am

Author Topic: choosing what to study at uni  (Read 2059 times)

katnisschung

• Trendsetter
  • Respect: +2
choosing what to study at uni
« on: January 01, 2017, 04:46:04 pm »
Hi everyone,

Im currently a year 12 student sitting their hsc in 2017.
as i'm on holidays with so much time to burn ive been
in this dilemma of what to study at uni....

Its a question that everyone asks especially family friends
and I've adopted a pretty blunt answer... veterinary science...

Frankly i don't know where my "heart lies" only that i'm definitely
looking towards doing a science based degree...

i've done some research on veterinary science and it really does interest me
only that the admission rate is 60/350 for csu applicants and sydney doesn't
hold much hope with a 98+ ATAR alongside extensive work experience for both...

I would appreciate anyone who could tell me their "story" of going through the process
of choosing their courses... also knowing when you've made the right decision to
commit (which I feel is the main reason driving my crisis and no I'm definitely not open to
taking a gap year just to "find myself" ::)

I honestly feel like I'm driving myself nuts thinking about what line i should go down.
HELP?

get me out of here

Coffee

• Forum Leader
  • Respect: +322
Re: choosing what to study at uni
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2017, 08:03:31 pm »
Instead of thinking about what you want to study, it might be more helpful to consider what career/industry you want to work in.

If you're not sure what industry you want to work in, it might be helpful considering what a good career looks like to you. Do you want to work inside or outside? Do you want to work in a team or would you prefer something more solitary? Do you want to be a leader or would you rather follow? Once we work this out we can start looking at careers you might like and what course you will need to pursue.