Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 28, 2024, 09:30:07 pm

Author Topic: Sewing thread!  (Read 16425 times)

Owlbird83

• BLAA 2020
  • Victorian Moderator
  • Forum Leader
  • Respect: +785
Sewing thread!
« on: January 16, 2019, 08:52:17 pm »
+15
Hey guys I don't know if there's already a sewing thread but if there isn't please post pictures here of any things that you sew!

I have been sewing for a while maybe 3 years. I first made some very simple bags/pencilcases/cushions. I have sewn quite a few tops and dresses but the majority have been very unwearable. I have slowly been improving though and today I made a jumpsuit/two piece thing that I'm really proud of! It's one of the first clothes I've made that my mum hasn't said looks ''Interesting''.
In the past I've tried to avoid zips because I've had bad experiences but I'm excited because I finally added one successfully! I bought this nice material for $3 at an opshop (Where I get most of my material because Spotlight so expensive, especially since there's a high chance I'll ruin it. But like it's almost cheaper to buy new clothes than to buy the material to make it I read about an experiment where they got people to make paper cranes then gave them a choice to either buy back the ones they made themselves or buy or perfect ones that were already made. They found that people would pay more for the ones they made themselves even though they were messier and worse than the perfect ones someone else had made.
Does anyone know of any cheap material stores? I really like this fabric even though I think it's intended for an armchair or couch, but oh well  :P .

It's also the second time I've tried sewing trousers, but they're not as scary as you'd expect.

Edit: Yay I finally used imgur for the first time!
« Last Edit: January 16, 2019, 09:08:44 pm by Owlbird83 »
2018: Biology
2019: Chemistry, Physics, Math Methods, English, Japanese
2020: Bachelor of Psychology (Monash)

Owlbird83

• BLAA 2020