Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 28, 2024, 09:27:56 pm

Author Topic: Psych next year - resource/study advice?  (Read 2661 times)  Share 

yuzy

Psych next year - resource/study advice?
« on: December 19, 2012, 11:45:32 pm »
For starters,
I have not done unit 1 or 2 psych, I have no knowledge about the subject. I am using the Grivas psych book, and have checkpoints for 3/4.

I have read some stuff that the checkpoints are practically useless because you can just use vcaa's past exams. Can anyone suggest decent notes/study guides? I've been looking for NEAP Psych but have no idea where to get it, and there is currently no AN Psych 3/4 study guide

Is a tutor necessary? How many practice exams should I do per unit, and how much study should I dedicate to it? How difficult would it be to get 48+?

Limista

• Victorian
  • Forum Leader
  • Respect: +63
  • School Grad Year: 2013
Re: Psych next year - resource/study advice?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2012, 03:06:56 pm »
It's perfectly fine if you have not done unit 1 or 2 psychology - the only thing that's required from 1/2 knowledge in 3/4 psych is the RESEARCH METHODS component. If you print off the study design for units 3/4 psych, should tell you all that you are required to know for research methods. Learning research methods is the most tedious bit (you will literally hate it initially), but I gradually started to like the formulaic aspect of it (when it comes to stuff like SA or Extended answer question in practice exams).

I used the Grivas psych book. I ALSO used the oxford 3/4 psych book (NB there is no way in hell to access the solutions for chapter and review questions so don't bother trying for this book...just ask your teacher if you want someone to check your answer). Read both books - heightens your understanding.