Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 03:07:07 am

Author Topic: Working Part-Time and Christmas Casual at the same time??  (Read 4699 times)  Share 

cdiamond

• Forum Regular
  • Respect: +20
Working Part-Time and Christmas Casual at the same time??
« on: September 22, 2020, 03:40:05 pm »
+1
So I've been thinking of maybe taking up a Christmas Casual retail job (or at least try applying for a few) on top of my current part time job.

Here's a little background about my job situation:
- I work as a fast food attendant in a company with one store (in Melbourne City)
- The store is understaffed at the moment because the boss decided to cut everybody who cannot get Jobkeeper out (so basically I was saved by Jobkeeper)
- There's only 3 workers (2 of us are uni students, 1 takes on more hours because of us - she's ok with it but I feel bad cause she looks so exhausted) + the manager (which is probably going to change cause she told me she's leaving once everything settles down and the boss finds a new manager)
- That 1 other worker is going to school starting next year + the store is currently struggling with hours so we're trying to convince the boss to start looking for more ppl earlier (he definitely doesn't want to spend more money because he's relying solely on Jobkeeper now)

Part of the reason I'm thinking of a Christmas Casual job is because my parents want to buy a house and I want to help them out since their job positions are a bit unstable currently. Another reason is that I need and want retail experience so I can widen my choices in the future. Aside from this, my other two workers are also considering the same thing for the experience and to help pay their rent.