Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 19, 2024, 10:53:18 pm

Author Topic: How do you study/ learn the content of sciences?  (Read 2016 times)  Share 

dux99.95

• Trailblazer
  • Respect: 0
How do you study/ learn the content of sciences?
« on: December 30, 2016, 08:02:10 pm »
HEY everyone!!

My question is HOW do you learn the content of sciences (physics or chem mainly).
i don't mean TECHNIQUES. Noo. Techniques/ tips are like mindmaps, take breaks, flashcards etc. YEP this is all great but it occurs/ after/during the process of learning the content.

What I mean is WHAT do you USE and HOW? Do you use a textbook, learn the material and then as you're learning, teach it to any imaginary student in your notebook? (that's what I do currently). The reason I'm asking is because I'm having major problems with this. I think the technique is great but the actual problem is I find the textbooks quite hard. background info = i studied in aus till yr 8 then yr 9 & 10 overseas. I didnt have a problem with textbooks overseas because there were books by the government established to learn from. And since it wasn't a native English speaking country, the info in the textbooks was written super simple and easy to understand which helped A LOT. I've been learning from Conquering chemistry lately and I find it quite hard - lack of diagrams, highly sophisticated English (IMO) etc. This isn't a personal attack on the book or anything - it's just how I feel and wanted you to know so that you could understand the situation better and let me know what you do. It's literally taking me 40 min per 6-7 pages of the book. ALSO, I find the exercises very hard!! The actual info is understandable but the exercises are pretty in depth. What do u guys think of this?

So what do you guys recommend to do? And where should I answer questions from since the textbook exercises destroy my self confidence.