Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 24, 2024, 12:35:00 am

Author Topic: Improving english writing skills  (Read 1297 times)  Share 

Mariamnourine

• Forum Regular
  • Be a voice, not an Echo
  • Respect: +13
Improving english writing skills
« on: April 25, 2017, 02:07:51 pm »
Hey Everyone!
I'm a current year 12 student looking to improve my English writing skills.
Does anyone have any advice on how to do this, especially with language analysis!
Thanks Guys!  :)

p.s I heard reading a lot of books during year 12 REALLY helps, what are your thoughts?
2017: TT, Psychology, Further, English, BusMan

2018 : Nursing [Clinical leadership] /midwifery @ Deakin

You can't always win, but don't be afraid to fail.

Quantum44

• Victorian
  • Forum Leader
  • Respect: +313
Re: Improving english writing skills
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2017, 04:50:58 pm »
Hey Everyone!
I'm a current year 12 student looking to improve my English writing skills.
Does anyone have any advice on how to do this, especially with language analysis!
Thanks Guys!  :)

p.s I heard reading a lot of books during year 12 REALLY helps, what are your thoughts?

Traditionally good expression is acquired over time through reading quality literature. So if you want to improve, the key is to practice the specific type of response (in this case language analysis), take on board any feedback, and read quality literature in your spare time. Reading high ranking responses from other students also helps.

It would be also worthwhile, for language analysis in particular, to read the newspaper and try to analyse how they persuade the reader. Try to think about language techniques, appeals and how their arguments are logically structured.
UAdel MBBS

Mariamnourine

• Forum Regular
  • Be a voice, not an Echo
  • Respect: +13
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2017, 08:40:21 pm »