Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 04:02:24 am

Author Topic: Accelerated 2U/3U  (Read 4847 times)  Share 

knsmce

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
Accelerated 2U/3U
« on: October 25, 2019, 10:31:50 pm »
Help! I'm in a bit of a dilemma. :-[

As an accelerated student, I'll be completing 2U and 3U maths this year (actually, I just did the 2U HSC today). I've chosen to do 4U for Year 12 but I've heard that my 2U HSC mark won't count - regardless of whether I did it as an accelerated student or not. Is this true?

I'm doing really well in 2U and 3U and am hoping to get a high band 6 / E4. If my 2U marks won't count, is it even worth doing 4U? I only chose to accelerate so I would have more time to focus on my other subjects in year 12. It would be a shame if I ended up getting a lower mark in 4U than in 2U, as the 2U mark wouldn't count.

fun_jirachi

• MOTM: AUG 18
  • Part of the furniture
  • All doom and Gloom.
  • Respect: +710
Re: Accelerated 2U/3U
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2019, 10:57:43 pm »
+5
Welcome to the forums!

While I didn't do 3U last year, I did do 2U last year and am currently doing 4U this year as well as 3U. While if you do 4U, as well as 3U and 2U, your 4U will be worth 2 units, and your 3U will also be worth 2 (essentially discounting your band 6 in 2U; it is true as far as I know), the payoff is very worth it.

There's a couple of reasons that I've found made 4U worth doing despite accelerating 2U:
- You get more units of maths counting to your ATAR (four units as opposed to two/three) - and clearly it's a very strong subject for you, so that's definitely a good thing