Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 02:05:47 am

Author Topic: To Kill a Mockingbird: Questions and Notes  (Read 10680 times)

caffinatedloz

• VIC MVP - 2019
  • Part of the furniture
  • Respect: +856
To Kill a Mockingbird: Questions and Notes
« on: July 15, 2019, 06:20:56 pm »
+5
Hey guys!
I am studying To Kill a Mockingbird this term and I discovered that there aren't any notes on the AN forum. :( I figured that I might collate the notes I take on different themes aspects and characters here so that they can be useful for others. If anyone has studied TKAM, would love any advice, summaries, insight ect.

To begin... here are some websites I looked at for contextualising the novel, particularly in the case of Emmett Till.
http://100photos.time.com/photos/emmett-till-david-jackson
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emmett_Till
https://nypost.com/2017/01/27/emmett-tills-accuser-admits-it-was-all-a-lie/
https://www.miamiherald.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/leonard-pitts-jr/article216255585.html

I also have a set of background research. I tried to upload it to the Notes section, but there is no category for stuff related to Year 9/10. I figured I may as well post them here. (see attachments)

caffinatedloz

• VIC MVP - 2019
  • Part of the furniture
  • Respect: +856
Re: To Kill a Mockingbird: Questions and Notes
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2019, 06:20:51 am »
+2
Vocabulary for Chapter One:

Assuaged: To mitigate, satisfy or calm.
Apothecary: A person who prepared and sold medication and drugs.
Persecution: Affliction, torture or ill-treatment because of race, religion, politics or other beliefs.
Brethren: A fellow member of a close group.
Impotent: Powerless, weak or ineffective.
Taciturn: A person who is uncommunicative or says very little.
Unsullied: Has not been spoiled, tainted or ruined.
Alleged: To state a point without proof.
Imprudent: Not showing care about the consequences of an action. (Acting impulsively or irrationally.)