Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 09:03:06 am

Author Topic: if you are interested in Optometry  (Read 6095 times)  Share 

XiaoleiNap

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: +4
if you are interested in Optometry
« on: September 29, 2020, 11:43:03 pm »
+10
hi friends, I'm currently a year 3 Optometrist student from the University of Melbourne, if you are interested/curious about the course I'm happy to answer questions! (but cannot guarantee that I know all the answers.. but I will try!!
I uploaded a short video of a day in an optometrist student under stage 4 lockdown :) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T_0WY1O-sCc
it may give you a SUPER general idea of what optometrist stduent do in preclinic study ;D
(( ps: Why do I post this? I wish back in the days when I was twisting between courses I could have had someone in the course to ask haha))

I'm new to the forum so if it's inappropriate to post the link here please let me know and I will delete it!

some general facts (info from uni's official website: https://study.unimelb.edu.au/find/courses/graduate/doctor-of-optometry/entry-requirements/)
- it's a 4 year post graduate course (I know it's surprisingly very long)
- what you need for prerequisite: an undergraduate degree in any discipline + a result from GAMSAT + 3 subjects of year 2 or year 3 biological science/related subjects (yeah all together 7 years)
- undergraduate degree from ANY university, the application process does not 'prefer' any uni
- I have to confess that I don't know how much marks for gamsat required for this course, there was no clear comments by our coordinators, but I think if you are applying for med etc through GEMSES, please give optom a shot if you want to keep options open!
- the course is called Doctor of Optometry, but we don't really use this title when we graduate

some random facts/personal opinion
- I am not academically strong so I spent 95% of my spare time studying (yeah I'm very nerdy I admit :'(