Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 04:23:15 am

Author Topic: Bee(a) buzzing through film school  (Read 35756 times)

beatroot

• HSC LECTURER
  • Honorary Moderator
  • Part of the furniture
  • Respect: +1566
Bee(a) buzzing through film school
« on: January 30, 2018, 05:40:24 pm »
+18
Hi! My name is Bea and I’m a HSC 2017 graduate. You’ve probably seen me around the forums ;)

I will be attending the Australian Film Television and Radio School (AFTRS) in Sydney from 2018-2020. I will be studying a Bachelor of Arts Screen: Production. I submitted a personal statement, a short story, a review of a web series and a letter of recommendation for my portfolio (no ATAR required). Though, sometimes I like to tell people I’m attending UNSW or UTS to fulfill my dream of being a fake UNSW/UTS student.

Why film?
It all started when I edited a short film back in Year 8 English called ‘The Ghost in the Hallway’. It got voted best edited and best overall film in my class and was shown in front of the entire school during assembly. Ever since, I’ve enjoyed editing films because it was really fun. I remember reading an article that said you should do your hobby as a job because it wouldn’t feel like you’re working. Plus the media arts holds so much power to start trends, educate people and influence movements. So I knew film was the career path I had to go into. Also, I was a HUGE Visual Arts nerd during primary and secondary school and can’t bear a life where I couldn’t express myself artistically.

Why AFTRS?