Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 28, 2024, 09:05:23 pm

Author Topic: Bsc Melbourne or Bsc Advanced Research Monash, and other victorian unis?  (Read 5338 times)  Share 

ANOXREDCAT

• Adventurer
  • Respect: 0
Hello there,

I'm a student currently completing year 12. To give you some context, i'm doing methods, bio, chem, english and psych, and I hope to major something within biochemistry probably medically focused or possibly another area in chemistry. Eventually I want to get into research, meaning i'll need to do honours. Here's some questions i'd love an answer to if you know anything about these courses. It would be extra valuable if you've moved on to do research.

Firstly, did you enjoy doing 'insert course' as a whole, and what were the pros/cons of this degree as opposed to what you might know about science at melbourne?
How competitive is it?
 How much research did you actually get to do?
 In terms of getting into a phd program, how does this help you?
 If your aim was to get into a phd program and you could do another course (biomed for example), would you change anything.
 Im also a little confused on getting into phd, I've got conflicting information, but can you go straight from honours into phd?
 How long did it take you to decide what you wanted to focus on, and also how did your lecturers/supervisors help you decide.
What kind of things do you do in your phd and how much freedom do you get.
This might be sensitive so feel free not to answer, but in terms of financial stability how do you feel about everything so far, is it a struggle to balance work and study?

This is a lot, I know, but overall do you have any tips/advice for me, and what would you recommend I do to make the best decision? Finally, is there anyone I should speak to/ you could put me in contact with, to learn more.
Like i said, this is pretty full on so feel free to leave any questions out if you really want. I really appreciate the advice.
English: 35