Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 10:11:19 pm

Author Topic: QCE subject selection!  (Read 4147 times)

kpike0

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
QCE subject selection!
« on: August 12, 2021, 01:54:37 pm »
+2
Hey guys! I'm completely new to this, so I have no clue if I've posted correctly or not! I'm currently in grade 10 and have started my subject selection for year 11, and I have a couple questions on whether or not the subjects I've chosen are going to set me up for success.

So my subject choices so far are economics, general mathematics, the general English (I've forgotten the actual name), modern history, legal studies and visual art. As you can probably tell, I hate science even though I'm okay at it and I've just made the decision to play it safe and go for general mathematics instead of methods. My question is, will I be able to get a high ATAR if I perform exceptionally in these subjects, even though they aren't weighted like the higher math's or science's?

I hope this makes makes sense!

K.Smithy

• QLD MVP - 2019
  • QCE Moderator
  • Forum Obsessive
  • "We are the cosmos made conscious." B.C. (she/her)
  • Respect: +396
Re: QCE subject selection!
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2021, 04:51:51 pm »
+4
Hi kpike0!
Welcome to the forums, it's good to have you here :)
You can most certainly get a high ATAR if you perform well in your subjects. No subjects will bar you from succeeding. If you are passionate about the content and think you will do well in those subjects, go for it! A girl in my school got a 96 and she studied gen math, gen english, SOR, PE, psych, and music. Most of these subjects scale down, yet she was still able to do really well.
So, you can most definitely get a high ATAR with any subjects you study - so long as you do well in them :)
Hope this makes sense :)
Katelyn
QCE 2020: Physics (92) || Psychology (96) || Biology (93) || Methods (79) || English (98) || SOR (91)
ATAR: 98.40