Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 19, 2024, 11:23:01 pm

Author Topic: What it's like studying Communications at UTS  (Read 20702 times)

elysepopplewell

• HSC Lecturer
  • Honorary Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • "Hey little fighter, soon it will be brighter."
  • Respect: +970
What it's like studying Communications at UTS
« on: November 07, 2016, 11:10:28 am »
+7
I started studying at UTS in 2016, enrolled in a Bachelor of Communications (Journalism) and a Bachelor of International Studies. I withdrew from a Bachelor of International Studies and now, I just do a Bachelor of Communications (Journalism).

Bachelor of Communications:
2016 is the first year that this course is offered as a Bachelor of Communications and not a Bachelor of Arts (Communications). This means that the second major is an option! Through UAC, you apply for one major (that’s the thing in brackets after Communications). If you choose to enter the second major, you first have to obtain a GPA of 3.5 or higher in your first year.
The course structure for the first year involves doing three subjects per semester: core communications, your major, and a stream choice elective.

Core communications:
In the first semester this was Citizenship and Communication and in second semester this was Digital Literacy (the first time this subject has run). Core communications is completed by every comms student – no matter if you’re a journalism student or creative writing student. It’s about the way we communicate. To me, it’s kind of a bit of an airy subject, but it’s a nice break from the other tricky stuff. Airey doesn’t mean easy – airy means broad, in this sense.

Your major: My major is Journalism so I studied the subject Stories from the Streets in semester one and Live Action: Multiplatform Journalism in semester two. This is the foundations for beginning the study into your major.