Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 20, 2024, 01:44:30 am

Author Topic: I'm unsure about my degree - what should I do?  (Read 607 times)  Share 

martinstran

• Adventurer
  • Respect: +8
I'm unsure about my degree - what should I do?
« on: March 26, 2020, 04:07:18 pm »
So I'm currently studying Actuarial Studies at MQ and I'm really not enjoying myself or the degree. Census date is approaching and I'm not sure if I should drop out of the course or not. I don't really know what I actually want to do now, so is it too much of an extreme measure to drop out of uni? In high school, I wasn't really sure of what I wanted to do either, so I ended up 'hoarding' random offers in each of the UAC rounds - MQ offered a scholarship so I accepted (not the best way to choose a degree I guess :confused:). My other preferences included some combinations of commerce/arts/science - so kinda more liberal studies degrees where there's a little bit more flexibility.

As to what industries I see myself working in, I really don't know. I've thought about a really wide range of industries that I might enjoy - from teaching to dentistry to architecture, but can't really pinpoint exactly the right thing.

What should I do now??

Any help/advice is much appreciated, and feel free to leave any suggestions as to what degree/vocation I might enjoy doing, even maybe based on my HSC marks??!? (my marks are pretty much highest to lowest in terms of levels of enjoyment of the subject I guess - s+c mightt edge out maths in that regard).
HSC 2019
ENG (Std) 89 | MX1 98 | MX2 99| ECO 89 | S+C 94 | SOR 1 44 | ATAR: 99

kauac

• Forum Leader
  • Respect: +291
Re: I'm unsure about my degree - what should I do?
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2020, 08:18:45 pm »
+1
Hey!