Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 19, 2024, 09:51:20 am

Author Topic: The difference between an "A" student and a "B" student in mathematics.  (Read 1084 times)  Share 

Erstwhile

• Forum Regular
  • Respect: +36
Many tests I struggle to get a score of 90+ mostly because of my slacking in years 9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2 and 1. I almost always, and I mean always end up with a score between 75-84 and it's so frustrating. I was never good at maths but I am ready to change that this year, so I just wanted to know what do "A" students do to improve their mathematical abilities? I do all the questions my teachers give me but I still manage to mess up during exams... P.S I am a year 10 student.
#nerdlife 2019

Aaron

• Honorary Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • Respect: +1536
+6
Hello and welcome to the community Erstwhile. Glad to see a keen Year 10 student on here.

I do all the questions my teachers give me but I still manage to mess up during exams...
Have you understood the reason for 'messing up' during exams? This could be due to a number of reasons... such as panic or stress out before a high-stakes assessment such as an exam?

I think in mathematics especially, practice is key. Practice leads to confidence, and in a lot of situations, this is the main problem. Mathematics is perceived to be a hard/difficult discipline and attitudes (by self, peers and the people around us) can affect the way we achieve and do maths.

I was never good at maths but I am ready to change that this year,
If you aren't 'good' and still are getting 75-84 in your tests and other assessments, I think this is a good start. It shows that you have a competent level of understanding to expand further. I am using single quotes around key words because these are your words, not mine :)

Like I said above - I think confidence is the biggest problem for a lot of students in mathematics (through self-doubt and second guessing).

I do all the questions my teachers give me