Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 24, 2024, 08:30:00 am

Author Topic: Rankings after half yearlies  (Read 2835 times)

softy

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
Rankings after half yearlies
« on: April 10, 2018, 05:58:08 pm »
+1
Currently, I am a year 12 student in a selective school (ranked top 30 in HSC in 2017). So backtrack to the first term of year 12 my marks for nearly every subject were horrible:
English Advanced: 13/15 (rank 20/120)
Biology: 25/48 (rank 69/70)
Chemistry: 19/45 (not sure what rank, but definitely bottom 5)
Business: 46/50 (10/35)
3U Maths: 83% (44/102)
4U Maths: 48% (42/42)

Today I got my half yearly marks back and oh boy...
English: 78% (average was 70%)
Biology: 63% (average was 76%)
Chemistry: 54% (average was 77%)
Business: 87% (average was 76%)
3U: 92% (average was 85%)
4U: 85% (average was 88%)

As you can obviously see, my ranks for nearly all my subjects are going to drop (besides english, 3U and business). My ATAR aim is 97.30 and at this rate, I really don't think I will be able to achieve it. I've entered my marks into the ATAR calculator (after adjusting it slightly) and the ATAR was very much lower than my aim.

If I continue this rate, I will be going into the HSC coming last in possibly 3 of my subjects. When the year started, I personally thought that chemistry would count to my ATAR but it seems like biology is going to (that says a lot considering how horribly I'm doing in it).

I would like an honest opinion on whether it would be possible for me to achieve my ATAR goal, because the course I'm aiming for is one that I really want to do. Would it be more realistic for me to look for a course that requires a much lower ATAR? And is there anyone who was in a similar situation as I am in but managed to achieve an ATAR similar to my goal?

Opengangs

• New South Welsh
  • Forum Leader
  • \(\mathbb{O}_\mathbb{G}\)
  • Respect: +480
Re: Rankings after half yearlies
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2018, 06:17:38 pm »