Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 20, 2024, 12:14:12 pm

Author Topic: Sophisticated Vocab  (Read 1299 times)  Share 

pha0015

• Trendsetter
  • Respect: +8
Sophisticated Vocab
« on: May 10, 2018, 11:10:23 am »
So I know that I've acquired an extensive vocab, mainly latently from my excessive reading habits, but I don't know how to tap into it to enhance my writing. Don't know if I'm explaining this right but for example, I can understand the meaning behind such words, or at least grasp the gist of it, but when I try to write in a sophisticated manner, those words don't come to mind, and so I'm stuck repeating this limited list of vocab, which makes me sound as if I'm a student who just memorised a bunch of sophisticated words to appear more intelligent, which is frowned upon in English.

SOS?

Don't know if anyone else has this problem, as usually people are stuck building their vocab, not drawing it out from their subconscious.

PhoenixxFire

• VIC MVP - 2018
  • Honorary Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • They/them/theirs
  • Respect: +3102
Re: Sophisticated Vocab
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2018, 11:43:07 am »
Same. I know what the words mean but I just don't write them haha. Maybe try just writing random sentences that use those words. Like sentences that you may write in english so that you become more familiar with them and they're the first thing to pop into your mind when you go to actually write a sentence with similar meaning for english.
2019: B. Environment and Sustainability/B. Science @ ANU
2020: Just Vibing
2021: B. Paramedicine/B. Nursing @ ACU Canberra

sdfg

• Trendsetter
  • Respect: +42
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2018, 11:43:35 am »
+5
Probably not the advice you're looking for, but aim for precise rather than 'sophisticated' vocabulary. Regardless of how well you do it, using words just for their perceived sophistication will always come off as pretentious. 
Psychology [45] | HHD [47]

Dictionnaire de la Marche

• Adventurer