Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 25, 2024, 09:00:08 am

Author Topic: WAM needed for UoM Honours in Science?  (Read 4749 times)  Share 

raushaanseychell

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
WAM needed for UoM Honours in Science?
« on: July 16, 2018, 04:25:07 pm »
So I am a third-year BSc Student at Melbourne (atarnotes didn't let me say that I graduated in 2015), and I am interested in Honours for the BSc, majoring in Physiology. My WAM currently sits at exactly 65% and I still have 6 subjects left.

A bit of context here: I struggled badly in first year, was incredibly unmotivated and did not study and by the end of 2016 my WAM was at a lowly 54, scraping passes in all my core subjects. I managed to pull myself together and improve drastically over the next year and a half, and by the end of third-year semester 1, I have improved my WAM by 11 points to 65 (hard to believe, but yes I did it with A LOT of hard work). With 6 subjects in hand, I aim to get my WAM closer to 67-68. My question is, would 67-68 be enough for honours?

• Forum Leader
  • socratic junkie wannabe
  • Respect: +341
Re: WAM needed for UoM Honours in Science?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2018, 06:37:48 pm »
+6
Big props for your huge improvement - pretty sure 65% is the minimum you need to get into BSc honours. You've obviously switched into gear in order to get where you are now, and I think it's very much possible for you to do honours. I think if you can show potential supervisors the huge improvements you've made, they would be more than happy to take you on, assuming other parts of your application are solid.

While it might be true that not having a crazy high WAM (like 80) might preclude you from some bigger labs (I've heard that places such as WEHI are very academically selective), that isn't the end of the world. You have a wide scope of places you can pick from, and there are more things to honours applications than just a number on your transcript.