Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 05:10:24 pm

Author Topic: Historians/Quotes I Used for Section One  (Read 6134 times)  Share 

kensie08

• Adventurer
  • 2018 HSC
  • Respect: +13
Historians/Quotes I Used for Section One
« on: December 16, 2018, 08:43:03 pm »
+16
Hey guys, over the History Extension course, you will look at a whole heap of historians, from ancient right through to modern times, and gain a heap of info about their methodologies, purposes, perspectives and prejudices. However, for me personally, whilst it was great to have this extensive bank of historians, I seemed to often fall back on a few from a core group, who I found related to most questions, and who I could easily use to support my position when approaching the sources in exams. Now, I am by no means an expert or a moderator, but after a lot of hard work I did manage to do very well in this subject, and I thought I would pass on what I found helpful!  :)
So here are the historians, and the quotes, that I loved to pull out in the 'What is History' section.

John Vincent - postmodern position
1. "History is deeply male, history is essentially non-young. History is about the rich and famous, not the poor. History favours the articulate, not the silent."
2. "History is about assessing distortions, not copying out truths...distortion is built into the very nature of history."
3. "No evidence, no history, imperfect evidence, imperfect history."

Keith Jenkins - postmodern position
1. "History is arguably a verbal artefact, a narrative prose discourse in which the content is as much invented as found, and which is written by present minded, ideologically positioned workers."
2. "The past, appropriated by historians, is never the past itself, but the remaining accessible traces of it."

Eric Hobsbawn - marxist position