Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 16, 2024, 09:58:16 pm

Author Topic: Worlds of Upheaval Help  (Read 4396 times)  Share 

Partinus

• Adventurer
  • Respect: 0
Worlds of Upheaval Help
« on: March 27, 2019, 12:33:36 am »
+2
Hey guys,

I'm new to ATARNotes, but was hoping I could get some help with my assessment. I have to write a mock academic paper "investigating the complex relationship between individuals and society during times of upheaval as represented in canonical literature." (1500 words)

So our prescribed text is Frankenstein or Metropolis - I'm doing Frankenstein. My thesis was going to be something along the lines of how worlds of upheaval in society can be corruptive for the individual. I was going to dicuss how the presence of intertextuality 'schools' the Monster. He is initially born 'good', but as society corrupts the Monster, he takes these texts as parable and discovers self e.g. Milton's 'Paradise Lost' - Monster believes he is Satan rather than Adam, wreaks destruction (also the power of language here). And then I was going to explore the whole moral debate underpinning the novel that Shelley instigates the reader in, the question of whether Victor or the monster is justified. I was also going to draw upon John Locke's 'Theory of Enlightenment' -- born good, but corrupted by society. I think my thesis is ok at this point, but any feedback would be greatly appreciated! - perhaps how I could extend it beyond just worlds of upheaval being corruptive for the individual? Or maybe another approach to Frankenstein?

We also have to pick two related texts, preferably of different forms. Does anyone have some good suggestions that they think could parallel these themes, or would pair nicely with Frankenstein?

Here are the requirements: