Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 10:16:30 pm

Author Topic: The HSC English Poetry Thread  (Read 4617 times)  Share 

angewina_naguen

• HSC Lecturer
  • Part of the furniture
  • Musical Theatre Tragic And Ultimate Pun Generator
  • Respect: +1026
The HSC English Poetry Thread
« on: December 11, 2018, 10:46:09 pm »
+12
Hey, everyone!

I was thinking of ways to make an ongoing series of resources for the new syllabus and decided that nothing would bring me greater excitement than to do a focus thread on Poetry in the HSC ;D For my HSC, I studied poets Robert Gray and Sylvia Plath for Advanced and Extension 1 English respectively. I also did Extension 2 English and chose to compose a suite of poems for my Major Work. Poetry was always my favourite form to read and write so it was an eventful and highly enjoyable experience to immerse myself in poetic literature during the HSC. Throughout the year, I was able to gain a new understanding and appreciation for the form which I would like to share with you all  :) ;D

The prescribed poets for 2019 are as follows:
Spoiler
Common Module
Rosemary Dobson
Kenneth Slessor

Standard
Adam Aitken, Kim Chen Boey and Michelle Cahill
Ali Cobby Eckermann
Robert Gray
Oodgeroo Noonuccal

Advanced
John Donne
TS Eliot
Ted Hughes
John Keats
David Malouf
Sylvia Plath

Extension 1
Eileen Chong
Samuel Taylor Coleridge
Emily Dickinson
Seamus Heaney
Tracy K Smith
William Wordsworth