Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 23, 2024, 11:13:49 pm

Author Topic: UCAT Tips  (Read 5154 times)

R4mya

• Adventurer
  • Respect: +8
UCAT Tips
« on: April 28, 2019, 03:32:27 pm »
+7
Hey guys! I'm currently a first-year med student at Monash, and I tutor UCAT at Tutesmart. I just wanted to start this thread to post UCAT tips every weekend! Feel free to add tips of your own, or other strategies for UCAT or medicine/dentistry entry in general.  :D

R4mya

• Adventurer
Re: UCAT Tips
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2019, 03:38:22 pm »
+6
Tip 1: Do lots of practice questions!
It's super important to do as many practice questions as possible, especially for abstract reasoning!
Having trouble finding free practice questions?
Try:
- https://www.ucat.edu.au/ucat-anz/practice-tests - these ones are official, try to do all of them
- https://au.themedicportal.com - you have to sign up, but it is free
- Search online for ukcat practice questions, heaps will pop up

R4mya

• Adventurer
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2019, 03:46:44 pm »
+7
Tip 2: Timing
The UCAT is really tough for time, so its really good to do questions under timed conditions.
A good idea is to do questions under timed conditions, and then reattempt any questions you didn't get time for or didn't get right without the time pressure. This allows you to both get your timing right and develop the skills to be able to answer the questions.

Rom_Dog

• Adventurer
  • You gotta' just straight up eat the lettuce
  • Respect: +15
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2019, 04:23:09 pm »
+6
Tip 3: Put yourself in the shoes of others!