Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 28, 2024, 07:37:05 pm

Author Topic: Working while doing medicine??  (Read 5211 times)  Share 

angrybiscuit

• Trendsetter
  • Respect: +204
Working while doing medicine??
« on: October 10, 2019, 08:55:37 pm »
Hey AN!
I'm an aspiring doctor and would absolutely love it if I am able to do undergrad medicine at Monash (Melbourne or any other universities are unfortunately too far away). The only problem is I want to work during uni because I have to help out my family (we aren't in a good situation as of late). I'm willing to give up my dream career if only to help out my parents but is it possible to work while studying medicine? I know after 5 years you do internships and residency and you do get paid (minimally) but I don't think I can wait for that long...  :-\

Thanks in advance!
somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.
carl sagan

K888

• VIC MVP - 2017
  • National Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • Respect: +2877
Re: Working while doing medicine??
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2019, 09:55:06 pm »
+5
Hey AN!
I'm an aspiring doctor and would absolutely love it if I am able to do undergrad medicine at Monash (Melbourne or any other universities are unfortunately too far away). The only problem is I want to work during uni because I have to help out my family (we aren't in a good situation as of late). I'm willing to give up my dream career if only to help out my parents but is it possible to work while studying medicine? I know after 5 years you do internships and residency and you do get paid (minimally) but I don't think I can wait for that long...  :-\

Thanks in advance!
I'm doing physio so a reasonably similar workload and also currently work with a med student in retail!