Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 20, 2024, 04:27:23 am

Author Topic: Persuasive Speech  (Read 2080 times)

K.Smithy

• QLD MVP - 2019
  • QCE Moderator
  • Forum Obsessive
  • "We are the cosmos made conscious." B.C. (she/her)
  • Respect: +396
Persuasive Speech
« on: November 04, 2019, 10:45:21 pm »
Hi all! :)

I was wondering if I could get some feedback on what I have so far for my persuasive speech for English? My draft is due tomorrow but I thought I may as well get some additional feedback :)
The task is kind of weird, we have to pretend we work for 'The Feed' (if you haven't seen 'The Feed', it is news delivered differently - yes, I realise that is the slogan for 'The Project' :P. It is targeted towards a younger audience and often times includes humour.) and we are presenting a news report. I've never written in a news reporty style before but hey, there's a first time for everything (I've also been told that I don't need to do the whole "Hello, and welcome to this weeks segment of The Feed" thing, so that's why that isn't included). I wrote this in one day so idk how good it is.

Also, my teacher told me to make sure my language is appropriate for my audience. I've also been told to make sure I'm not using too many statistics and only using what is relevant. I tried to do this to the best of my ability.

Thanks,
Katelyn :)

EDIT: lol, forgot to add that this will be accompanied by a PPT so some of it (specifically the second paragraph) isn't gonna make sense at all without the context provided in the PPT slides. I have screen shotted some headlines like "Australians ranked in the top 5 sexiest nationalities" (this is where I link the "the people are shmexy (ooh la la)" bit, and also links to the America only being ranked 45th bit)
« Last Edit: November 04, 2019, 10:57:50 pm by K.Smithy »
QCE 2020: Physics (92) || Psychology (96) || Biology (93) || Methods (79) || English (98) || SOR (91)
ATAR: 98.40