Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 25, 2024, 06:53:21 am

Poll

How emotionally attached do you feel to your high school?

Extremely attached
13 (12.7%)
Quite attached
39 (38.2%)
Neither here nor there
12 (11.8%)
Only a tiny bit attached
21 (20.6%)
Not at all attached
17 (16.7%)

Total Members Voted: 100

Author Topic: How emotionally attached do you feel to your high school?  (Read 10275 times)  Share 

Joseph41

• Administrator
  • Great Wonder of ATAR Notes
  • Respect: +7477
How emotionally attached do you feel to your high school?
« on: June 05, 2018, 11:38:36 am »
+1
Was reflecting this morning as I waited for my bus after seeing a student from my old high school walk past. I thought, "I wonder if anybody from my school recognises me," and then I thought "no, they definitely wouldn't" - I graduated before the current Year 12s started haha. 😳

But then I started thinking about my high school more broadly, and my level of attachment to it. I didn't feel attached to it all, really, until about Year 10, I think. And then it just gradually builded until Year 12, where I felt pretty involved. I'd imagine many other people would have a similar story; the "higher" up the ranks you get, the more involved you tend to become, and I guess the more ownership you feel over the high school community. You're the leaders of the school.

In first-year uni, that continued for me, and I felt much more connected to my high school than my uni, despite having graduated. I guess this faded a little over my degree, but I still feel a closer emotional attachment to my high school than my uni. I think maybe this is because it was a much tighter community - as in, much smaller. I was very anonymous at uni.

These days, I'm still subscribed to my high school's newsletter, and like to take an interest in what's going on there. How about the rest of you? Whether you're in Year 9 or Year 12 or in uni, how emotionally attached do you feel to your high school?