Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 20, 2024, 12:54:14 am

Author Topic: Need help on Galvanic Cells  (Read 1620 times)  Share 

Frais

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
Need help on Galvanic Cells
« on: February 08, 2017, 12:01:03 pm »
I'm new to this so I'll be asking questions now or then
So there's this multiple-choice question that I'm struggling to understand and i hope to find someone to explain it
Question
When a piece of metal M is placed into a blue solution of QCl2, the metal develops a dark coating and the colour of the solution becomes less intense. It can be concluded from these observations that:
a) Metal Q is more reactive than Metal M
b) Metal M is reduced more easily than metal Q
c) The Q2+ ions are more easily reduced than M2+ ions
d) Chloride ions, Cl- are generally inert (unreactive) during chemical reactions
Thanks

jakesilove

• HSC Lecturer
  • Honorary Moderator
  • Part of the furniture
  • "Synergising your ATAR potential"
  • Respect: +196
Re: Need help on Galvanic Cells
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2017, 12:25:59 pm »
+1
I'm new to this so I'll be asking questions now or then
So there's this multiple-choice question that I'm struggling to understand and i hope to find someone to explain it
Question
When a piece of metal M is placed into a blue solution of QCl2, the metal develops a dark coating and the colour of the solution becomes less intense. It can be concluded from these observations that:
a) Metal Q is more reactive than Metal M
b) Metal M is reduced more easily than metal Q
c) The Q2+ ions are more easily reduced than M2+ ions
d) Chloride ions, Cl- are generally inert (unreactive) during chemical reactions
Thanks

Hey! Welcome to the forums!

So, let's think about what's happening here. We've got some sort of metal, M, and a solution, QCl2. The solution is actually ionised, so will contain

and