Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 05:42:15 pm

Author Topic: VCE: Literature vs English Language.  (Read 44730 times)  Share 

Macaron

VCE: Literature vs English Language.
« on: June 18, 2012, 10:35:59 pm »
I'm having trouble choosing which one I'd like to do next year.
I'm not that good at writing text response essays although, I like reading novels.

Can anyone give me background information on both of the subjects?

« Last Edit: July 02, 2012, 10:19:26 pm by charmanderp »

Hutchoo

• Victorian
  • ATAR Notes Superstar
  • Mate.
  • Respect: +218
Re: English Lit vs. English Language?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2012, 10:41:41 pm »
Hey man, for a good understanding of Eng Lang, check out this link.

English Language Resources, Essays and Information

REad the 2nd post

Starlight

• Victorian
  • ATAR Notes Superstar
  • Respect: +275
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2012, 10:49:27 pm »
Well you need to write an essay in language and they give you a topic to discuss, you analyse written or spoken language. There is some metalanguage definitions to know, but it is overall a good subject. I dont know much about lit.
2012-2014. BSc: Neuroscience. University of Melbourne.
2015-2018. Doctor of Optometry. University of Melbourne.

Unlikely to respond to any PMs these days.

Macaron

« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2012, 10:51:02 pm »
tank u guise.

(:

charmanderp

• Honorary Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • Respect: +305
  • School Grad Year: 2012
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2012, 10:54:50 pm »
Lit isn't really about text responses per se. You have to be able to critically analyse and understand an author's intention for writing a text in a certain way and what influenced and contextualised the text itself and then demonstrate your understanding through objective passage analysis. You're not really developing an argument as you do in your standard text response.