Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 19, 2024, 10:05:38 pm

Author Topic: Eng Lang 3/4 without 1/2  (Read 2464 times)  Share 

YehNahBro

• Trailblazer
  • Respect: 0
Eng Lang 3/4 without 1/2
« on: November 29, 2019, 08:34:26 pm »
Hello all,

I am thinking of switching form english mainstream to english language 3/4 but i dont know if this is advisable. By doing this, will it overload me with homework and studying? I am a stem student so i do feel like i will be able to pick up on things easier and quicker (hopefully haha). Anyways, thank you

AngelWings

• Victorian Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Superstar
  • "Angel wings, please guide me..."
  • Respect: +1425
Re: Eng Lang 3/4 without 1/2
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2019, 12:07:27 am »
+2
I am thinking of switching form english mainstream to english language 3/4 but i dont know if this is advisable. By doing this, will it overload me with homework and studying?
There have been a number of people who haven't studied Eng Lang U1/2 and jump straight into Eng Lang U3/4, who end up doing just fine. They do usually take some time to adjust to learning more metalanguage and some of the concepts that are transferred over from U1/2 (e.g. subsystems), but, overall, are not very hindered at all, given that most schools usually start from scratch when teaching Eng Lang U1/2. I'd encourage you to check the study design if you haven't already - both to know what you'd be in for and to get yourself acquainted to the different subsystems, metalanguage and jargon used in English Language U3/4. The other thing you'd probably have to do is make sure you're even able to join an Eng Lang class due to timetabling (assuming that timetable blocks are already set at your school).

By doing this, will it overload me with homework and studying?