Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 07:43:16 pm

Author Topic: What's LinkedIn all about?  (Read 1715 times)  Share 

Joseph41

• Administrator
  • Great Wonder of ATAR Notes
  • Respect: +7477
What's LinkedIn all about?
« on: June 26, 2018, 10:46:44 am »
+12
Well, LinkedIn is definitely a thing these days. 😂 But like, what is it exactly, and how can you use it?

I've had LinkedIn for a few years. I'm not an expert here by any means, but I've listed some tips/general discussion on LinkedIn below based on what I do know. Would love to use this thread for general LinkedIn discussion, questions etc. :)

Benefits of LinkedIn

1. Easier to update than your CV
At least, IMO it is! LinkedIn is actually pretty intuitive in the way you can add experience, volunteering positions, education etc. It basically builds the template for you, and you just plug in the relevant information.

Now, that's not to say you shouldn't have a regular CV on record. Some employers ask for a physical copy, or a format that isn't LinkedIn, and it'd be annoying as to have to create a CV from scratch. Much easier to just have one sitting in the background!

2. Build connections through groups
In the same way that you can join groups and stuff on Facebook, you can join groups on LinkedIn. These groups tend to be more professional, though, and you should consider them as such. But by joining groups for things you're interested in, or the industry you're working etc., you can build connections with other people doing similar things.

You immediately have the shared context of being in that same group and, therefore, presumably having a similar interest/experience.

3. Recommendations and endorsements