Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 28, 2024, 10:46:36 pm

Author Topic: The Imaginative Landscape  (Read 8327 times)  Share 

Just Another Person

The Imaginative Landscape
« on: September 10, 2011, 11:28:07 pm »
Hi there,

Is anyone studying the highly popular 'Imaginative Landscape' for context? And if so, what texts are you studying and how are you approaching the task? Or am I the only one finding it to be an insurmountable battle? All comments appreciated!

Tashi

Re: The Imaginative Landscape
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2011, 08:19:37 pm »
lol

ulbasour

• Victorian
  • Trendsetter
  • Respect: -1
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2011, 09:42:12 pm »
+2
"Highly popular"????
very questionable (unless sarcasm), most schools stay away from it, due its vagueness, and the  sophisticated level of thinking required to score well in it.
I'm studying Island for it.
You really need a fluid approach to answering this context area, and be able to draw upon ideas and examples relevant to landscapes of a more complex level than just the physical and literal ones - i.e., branching into the emotional, traditional, family, memory and imaginative landscapes etc. that encapsulate the human mind. It is quite a hard context area due to its vagueness, even harder than whose reality which is a bit more tangible. I would say be very broad in approaching a prompt and look to expand upon ideas that can be headlined under various "landscapes," and then explore ideas specifically linked to the text you are studying, making sure you explore at least one idea thoroughly - you don't have to make 3 or 4 ideas as some teachers say. It's essentially all about the interactions between humanity and the different
'landscapes" that encapsulate and govern it, and how well you can explore these ideas either in expository, narrative or one other type of writing which i forget, or a combination of any of the three.