Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 20, 2024, 02:42:43 am

Poll

Author Topic: .  (Read 9124 times)  Share 

Valjean

« on: July 04, 2014, 08:33:11 pm »
+1
« Last Edit: December 22, 2014, 12:35:00 pm by Seinfeld »

cameronp

• Victorian
  • Forum Regular
  • grumpy old man
  • Respect: +28
Re: What do you want to do next?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2014, 10:14:24 pm »
Well I'm a bit of an oddball here.

When I finished my BSc I spent a few years working. Now I'm back at uni for a bit of a change of direction: doing a postgraduate diploma to pick up a statistics major and some applied maths subjects, then planning to move on to an MSc (Statistics and Stochastic Processes). That's one of those weird "research training" courses that's kinda like honours but longer.

After that ... well, it's a long way away and there are a lot of possible choices, but I've been thinking of doing volunteer work overseas for a year before either getting a real job or doing a PhD.
BSc (Pure Mathematics) @ UWA, '04-'09
Postgraduate Diploma in Science (Mathematics and Statistics) @ UniMelb, '14
Master of Science (Statistics and Stochastic Processes) @ UniMelb, '15-'16

cameronp

• Victorian
  • Forum Regular
  • grumpy old man
  • Respect: +28
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2014, 11:00:44 pm »
Were your marks absolutely amazing or something? What did you do?
What can I even do with a Bachelor of Science...? (Science teacher?)

I can't wait to stop studying and just go out into the real world... It might sound stupid but sometimes I imagine myself having gone to TAFE and become a sparky and still making a decent living instead of going to uni for another 5 years just to do electrical engineering