Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 23, 2024, 10:27:42 pm

Author Topic: Repeating year 12 (I know there are lots of duplicates, sorry)  (Read 3050 times)  Share 

Archmage

• Adventurer
  • Respect: 0
Repeating year 12 (I know there are lots of duplicates, sorry)
« on: December 19, 2016, 06:47:10 pm »
Hi,
So I know people post this every year, but I still need to post this because from all the forums I've read, some of my questions aren't seem to be answered.

So yes, I might have to repeat year 12.
It is due to some problems associated with my VISA (I am an international student). The short story is if I go to uni next year, there's gonna be some issues and I have to wait a year, and do high school. It sucks I know, but there's no other options.
I've discussed this with my school, and it's the best idea they've come up with as well.

Apparently I am a bit worried and have some questions want to ask you guys. After reading other posts, I've narrowed them down to 2. So first question: Can I get a lower ATAR if I repeat year 12, if so how much lower might it be? I know the study scores won't actually decrease. So if there was this subject I did this year, and I do again next year, even if I did worse next year, they would still use the SS from this year (which is higher apparently) to calculate my second ATAR. If I do better next year, they would use the second year's SS. So my SS won't decrease no matter what. But although ATAR is calculated by ranking my total scaled study scores, if everyone else next year somehow got higher scaled study scores, wouldn't that lower my ranking and decrease my ATAR? I am a bit worried about that. I got not bad ATAR this year and it would be awful if it can actually decrease. So if it can actually decrease, would the difference be big? Say >1.00 variation?